Winging out of Toronto on a A380

I’m sitting in the lounge at Toronto Pearson Airport on the way to the ACI World annual conference in Kuala Lumpur. Just had some great chicken noodle soup! 

Ann Principato

Ann Principato in our "suite" on the Emirates A380.

We will travel on Emirates Airlines, connecting in Dubai and flying the A380 on the Toronto-Dubai leg. I’ve never flown on the A380 so I’m really looking forward to it. I’ll let you know what I think. 

Before leaving, I attended the semi-annual board meeting of the Canadian Airports Council. A doctor from what they call “Quarantine Services” spoke about H1N1. There was talk about the rent airports up here must inexplicably pay the federal government, about security, safety and a number of other issues. There was also a great deal of talk about the need to examine the cumulative regulatory burden placed by government, a burden felt especially by smaller airports. 

We also talked about ways ACI-NA’s U.S. and Canadian members can work more closely with one another. 

Before I came up here, I spoke to a meeting of the Airline Services Council of the National Air Transport Association (NATA). These are people who provide ground handling and other services at our airports. We don’t agree on every single issue but we have worked together on security, working to pass FAA Reauthorization and on beating back attempts to impose onerous new firefighting regulations. I truly believe that various interests within aviation have much more in common than not, and it is important to work together and communicate. We had a great exchange and will be following up on several issues. 

I’m going to get a little more to eat and get ready to board that A380. I’ll report back!

One thought on “Winging out of Toronto on a A380

Comments are closed.