Remembering a Warm and Trusting Person

This entry has little, if anything to do with aviation but it’s called Greg’s Blog so I guess I can write about something else. 

greg-blog-photoI’m on a train headed back home from a day in New Jersey visiting my family. My younger sister, Carol Anne, passed away this morning after fighting diabetes, congestive heart failure and at least a dozen other serious physical and psychological ailments for the last decade or two. 

Carol Anne had 8 kids and 3 grandkids, and since we are all made in the image and likeness of God that’s quite an accomplishment. She wasn’t well known or even all that well traveled (though she did enjoy Atlantic City and also her couple of trips to the Bahamas). She did enjoy hearing about all the different places I go to; I remember calling her from Regina, Saskatchewan when she was getting ready for her heart bypass a few years ago and she enjoyed saying “Saskatchewan” over and over. I looked forward to telling her about my recent trip to Jerusalem, and an upcoming trip to Dubai and Kuala Lampur but didn’t have a chance. 

She was someone who saw the good in everyone and wanted to like and trust everyone; a rare and wonderful quality (and one she shared with my wife). In her life she came across a few folks who, unfortunately, took advantage of that quality. Some might jump to the conclusion that we should withhold affection and trust, but I would say the moral of her story is that we should all strive to justify whatever affection and trust others place in us because those are great gifts indeed. And, we should all try to find the best in one another even when we might strenuously disagree. 

Carol Anne Principato. RIP

3 thoughts on “Remembering a Warm and Trusting Person

  1. Greg, I am so sorry to hear about your sister. I am just catching up on your blog after maternity leave and apologize that I am learning about this so late.
    Take care of yourself.

  2. Greg,
    I just happened to google Carol because she was such a good friend during our days at Exxon. I was shocked to hear of her death. She was warm, trusting and took me to my first broadway show (Evita). I visited her when the kids were small and I am so sad. She is in a better place.

    Kathy

Comments are closed.